Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday: The Naturals

September 25, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

My pick this week is The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. The blurb has done its job and reeled me in :)

The Naturals – Jennifer Lynn Barnes

  
The NaturalsSeries: The Naturals #1
Genre: YA Paranormal
Published: November 5th, 2013
Links: Goodreads   Amazon
 

Seventeen-year-old Cassie is a natural at reading people. Piecing together the tiniest details, she can tell you who you are and what you want. But it’s not a skill that she’s ever taken seriously. That is, until the FBI come knocking: they’ve begun a classified program that uses exceptional teenagers to crack infamous cold cases, and they need Cassie.

What Cassie doesn’t realize is that there’s more at risk than a few unsolved homicides— especially when she’s sent to live with a group of teens whose gifts are as unusual as her own.

Sarcastic, privileged Michael has a knack for reading emotions, which he uses to get inside Cassie’s head—and under her skin. Brooding Dean shares Cassie’s gift for profiling, but keeps her at arm’s length.

Soon, it becomes clear that no one in the Naturals program is what they seem. And when a new killer strikes, danger looms closer than Cassie could ever have imagined. Caught in a lethal game of cat and mouse with a killer, the Naturals are going to have to use all of their gifts just to survive.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2013 8:57 am

    ooo I haven’t heard of this yet but it looks so cool! I love YA books and I’m weirdly obsessed with criminology so I’ll defs be adding this to my TBR. Nice pick :)

  2. September 25, 2013 1:56 pm

    This is a super popular pick today, maybe because November isn’t too long to wait? Loving the synopsis, the cover’s a bit meh but then I’m a sucker for seeing real people on my covers. :-) Cool pick honey. Thanks for sharing.

  3. September 25, 2013 2:58 pm

    Awesome pick. This was mine a few weeks ago. Can’t wait to read it either :)

    Happy Wednesday!

    http://www.itchingforbooks.com/2013/09/waiting-on-wednesday-66-pointe-oblivion.html

  4. September 25, 2013 3:37 pm

    Great choice! I got this one from NG recently and I can’t wait to read it!

    • September 25, 2013 6:07 pm

      I’m jealous Sandra. Hope it’s brilliant!

  5. September 25, 2013 6:33 pm

    Awesome choice, I’ll be sure to add it to my TBR list. ;D

    By the way, we are giving away a SIGNED copy of Frozen by Melissa De La Cruz & Michael Johnston! Make sure to stop by and enter! :)

    Waiting on Wednesday
    Andy @ Owl Always Be Reading

  6. September 25, 2013 7:24 pm

    Wow, this sounds really good!! Thanks for sharing, I hadn’t heard of it yet!

  7. September 25, 2013 10:17 pm

    ENJOY your choice. NICE BLOG.

    I haven’t participated lately, but here are my answers.

    Currently reading: THE PARIS ARCHITECT…another good WWII book with great characters.

    Finished Reading: THE WEDDING GIFT…excellent read…review on my blog.

    Reading Next: SWEETEST HALLELUJAH…that is tentative…can’t pick. :)

    BTW…a great video on my blog that Simon & Schuster made with authors talking and thanking and praising bloggers. You will love it.

    Also a giveaway for THE RETURNED on my blog.

    Have a great day.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

  8. September 25, 2013 10:21 pm

    Huh, this one totally slipped under my radar. It kind of gives me the Darkest Powers by Kelley Armstrong feel. I’ll definitely have to check it out. Great choice :)

    -Mari @ The Sirenic Codex

  9. September 26, 2013 1:13 am

    This sounds so good! I’m looking forward to reading this as well.

    Sharon – Obsession with Books

  10. September 26, 2013 12:09 pm

    I love Jenn Barnes’ stuff and I can’t wait for this one either. Looks right up my alley. Thanks for sharing!

    Nyx @ Unraveling Words

  11. September 26, 2013 2:37 pm

    Ooo, I saw this one a few months ago, when the cover was revealed. It looks interesting, but it doesn’t suck me in :\ Hopefully, you read it and love it and review it and change my mind! :D

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

