Skip to content

Top Ten Tuesday

July 24, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s Top Ten list is Top Ten Most Vivid Worlds/Settings In Books. I’m giving my votes for the most vibrant and vivid world/setting to the following list. The stories aren’t always perfect but the worlds created by the authors are IMO memorable and each vivid in their own way.

1. Kate Daniels Series – Ilona Andrews (Urban Fantasy)

The Kate Daniels books are set in a post apocalyptic Atlanta. Magic has returned to the world. The landscape and technologies of the old Atlanta are crumbling. Magic and Tech are in a constant clash and at any particular time only one is in ascendant– there are waves of either magic or tech. I love the atmosphere in these books – the setting of a crumbling Atlanta is so vividly described, I can imagine the decaying city, slowly but surely being consumed by the magic.

2. Chronicles of Elantra – Michelle Sagara (Fantasy)

Elantra is an almost medieval city that houses numerous magical races from the winged Aerians to the feline Leontines, the Dragons, the Barrani, and the humans. Each race is distinct and is so well imagined and described. I love how Michelle Sagara uses the eye colour of the difference races to indicate mood and emotion although I can never keep the colours straight. 🙂

 

 

3. Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins (YA)

As pretty much everyone knows The Hunger Games are set in a dystopian world. I love the idea of the districts, each with its own function / industry. The poverty of District 12 is so bleak in comparison with the dramatic infrastructure of the city. And of course the games, the costumes – need I go on.

 

 

4. Guild Hunter / Archangel Series – Nalini Singh (Urban Fantasy / PNR)

The Guild Hunter series is set an alternative modern day, the difference being that Angels and Vampires are present and pretty much control the world. I love the scary angels and even scarier archangels with their beautiful powerful wings.

 

 

 

5. The Magic Faraway Tree Series – Enid Blyton (Children)

A beloved series from childhood. My school teacher read all the books to my class when we were perhaps 8. I dreamed that I would climb the Faraway tree and visit other worlds, stopping for tea with the trees inhabitants Moonface, Silky and Saucepan Man on my way home.

 

 

 

6. The Iron Seas – Meljean Brook (Steampunk)

An amazing Steampunk London. I love this world – it’s so well realised from the mechanically altered inhabitants to the scarily enhanced sharks and octopus, not to mention the waste land that is continental Europe. I can almost see the airships tethered over London.

 

 

7. Dragon Riders of Pern – Anne McCaffrey (Fantasy)

Fire-breathing telepathic dragons set in a quasi medieval world, enough said.

 

 

 

 

8. Wheel of Time – Robert Jordan (Epic Fantasy)

The scope of the world of the Wheel of Time is immense. Robert Jordan has created a world of distinct cultures and races, not to mention the magic system. The imagination and attention to detail here is incredible. One of my favourite series- definitely the longest.

 

 

9. Silk is for Seduction – Loretta Chase (Historical Romance)

The fashion of the day comes vibrantly to life.

 

 

 

 

10. Elfhome Series – Wen Spencer (Fantasy)

The Elfhome books are set in a near-future Pittsburgh which exists mostly in the land of the elves. I adore the world Wen Spencer has created– the elves and the races they’ve created combining magic and genetic engineering. I love how Tinker perfectly uses magic and technology together in her crazy schemes. J The concept of Elfhome is so fun and the story and world are so colourfully described and distinctive.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2012 9:03 am

    Awesome picks! I haven’t heard of a few but they look great 🙂

    -Cassie
    GreatMunchieReads

  2. July 24, 2012 10:58 am

    The Hunger Games is the only book I’ve read off your list – I’ll have to look in to the others though, they definitely sound like fascinating worlds!

    • July 24, 2012 1:14 pm

      Some of my favourite series – I definitely recommend.

  3. July 24, 2012 1:34 pm

    So many here that I love the look of and have them on my to-read list! The Guild Hunter books I’ve bought the first two and are sitting on my desk just waiting for me to get around to read.

    My second grade teacher read the Faraway Tree books to us… they’ll always be special to me for that reasons. I read them now and I’m back there again – both as a 8 year old and in the magical world Enid Blyton created.

    • July 24, 2012 3:46 pm

      Enid Blyton created some magical stories. I think the Faraway Tree books are timeless. My nephew loves them today as much as I did when I was young.

  4. July 24, 2012 3:41 pm

    ooh, great list! I have been meaning to read the chronicles of elantra for a long time, just haven’t yet. And the Dragons of Pern! can’t believe I forgot that one!

    • July 24, 2012 3:44 pm

      Thanks Scarlett. I love the Chronicles of Elantra.

  5. July 24, 2012 5:44 pm

    The Hunger Games made my list too. I haven’t read any of the other books on your list. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier.

  6. July 24, 2012 5:50 pm

    I love your list – simply because I am lame and have ONLY read The Hunger Games. Thanks for introducing me to some new books! I love when that happens! 🙂

  7. cortchan permalink
    July 24, 2012 7:34 pm

    Wow! I have only heard of the Hunger Games and I’ll have to check out the others! The Steampunk series looks especially good! I need to read more steampunk cause I’ve read like none at all.

    • July 24, 2012 10:03 pm

      I’ve found it tough to find good Steampunk but I love this series from Meljean Brook especially the first two Here There Be Monsters and The Iron Duke.

  8. July 24, 2012 7:52 pm

    I almost put Wheel of Time on mine! You have some great choices on here, lots of different stuff. Great list!

  9. July 24, 2012 7:52 pm

    I can’t believe I forgot the world of the Wheel of Time books! (And another Pern lover! Yipee!)

    • July 24, 2012 10:00 pm

      Pern has a special place in my book heart 🙂 The White Dragon is my favourite although I love the Harpers also.

  10. July 25, 2012 2:31 pm

    I actually haven’t heard of most of these (with the exception of HG, WoT, and Pern!). Definitely putting Iron Seas on my to-read list! XD Thanks for stopping by mine! ❤

Trackbacks

  1. Top Ten Tuesday « Adina's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

