Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday – Elemental

August 1, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Antony John’s, Five Flavors of Dumb was a great book that I really enjoyed when I read it earlier this year. In particular, I liked his characters who were well developed, real and interesting. Elemental is his new release that will be published in November. I like the blurb – sounds exciting.

 

Elemental – Antony John

A mysterious and powerful fantasy adventure from a Schneider Award winner.In the near future, most of the population of the United States has been destroyed by the plague. The few remaining survivors live in colonies on the barrier islands off the East Coast. In one colony near Cape Hatteras, almost all the members have elemental powers and can control wind, water, earth, and fire. All but sixteen-year-old Thomas. When the Guardians, the powerful adult leaders, are kidnapped by pirates seeking to take over their colony, it is up to Thomas and a small group of teens to save them and preserve the mysteries of the island.Fast action, strategy, and mystery churn together into a bold and fresh fantasy from an award-winning author.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2012 1:11 pm

    Oooh, I wish I had an elemental power! This is the first time I’ve heard about the author, but he definitely sounds good! Thanks for sharing!
    My WoW
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  2. August 1, 2012 3:43 pm

    I haven’t read any books that center around the elements and this one sounds really good. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. August 1, 2012 5:27 pm

    Great pick! This one sounds pretty good. I like the cover & the concept. I’m definitely going to have to pick this one up when it finally comes out. 🙂

  4. August 1, 2012 7:08 pm

    Okay, this looks awesome. The cover and the premise! It reminds me of Avatar: The Last Airbender. Definitely on my TBR pile! It keeps getting bigger!

    • August 1, 2012 7:34 pm

      TBR piles always become slightly unmanageable. So many books, so little time 🙂

  5. August 1, 2012 10:10 pm

    I haven’t heard of this, but the description is interesting! I’ve always liked things that creatively use the elements.

  6. August 2, 2012 9:23 pm

    I haven’t heard of this one, but it sounds interesting. The cover is definitely eye catching. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

