Skip to content

Recommend A… Book Someone Else Recommended To You

August 6, 2012

Recommend A… is a weekly meme hosted by Shanyn at Chick Loves Lit.

Today I’m recommending The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. This book was recommended to me by my friend Evie. I’d only read one title by Maggie Stiefvater previously, Shiver, the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls series. I just couldn’t connect with Shiver and it ended with a DNF. So I was reluctant to try this one but Evie assured me that I’d like it. She was right!

The Scorpio Races is a  character driven coming of age story. I really liked the plot and the main characters Sean and Puck. The story is a lovely blend of fantasy and romance, and the water horses are incredible, they almost feel real.

The Scorpio Races – Maggie Stiefvater

Genre: YA / Fantasy
Published: October 2011 by Scholastic Inc.
Links: Amazon   Book Depository
It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die.At age nineteen, Sean Kendrick is the returning champion. He is a young man of few words, and if he has any fears, he keeps them buried deep, where no one else can see them.

Puck Connolly is different. She never meant to ride in the Scorpio Races. But fate hasn’t given her much of a chance. So she enters the competition — the first girl ever to do so. She is in no way prepared for what is going to happen.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2012 11:10 am

    The synopsis sounds very interesting — definitely going on my to-read list!

  2. August 6, 2012 12:57 pm

    I really didn’t like Shiver either! I finished it but was really disappointed with it. I have heard that this one is nothing like it though and it so much better! It’s on my list to borrow from a friend (when I have time) 🙂

    • August 6, 2012 12:59 pm

      It’s a really interesting read. When you have the time 🙂

  3. August 6, 2012 5:01 pm

    THIS BOOK. It’s one of my all time favorites now, gah, I simply adore it.

  4. August 6, 2012 8:29 pm

    I had read and loved this book!
    Great recommendation.
    Here is My Recommend A..

  5. August 7, 2012 12:28 am

    I want to read this so bad! And I felt exactly the same about Shiver!

Leave a Reply

