Skip to content

Review: Obsidian – Jennifer L. Armentrout

August 11, 2012

Series: Lux #1
Genre: YA, Paranormal/Sci-Fi
Published: May 2012
Links: Amazon   Book Depository

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

 

Recently, I’ve seen quite a few Waiting on Wednesday posts that feature Onyx, the second book in Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Lux series. Prior to these WoW entries, I’d never come across the series but I read the synopsis of Obsidian, and thought why not? I’m sick of vampires, werewolves and angels – I’ll give aliens a go! So, with few expectations, I read Obsidian.

Katy Swartz and her mother have just moved to Ketterman, West Virginia from Florida. Katy is seventeen years old and just about to enter her senior year at high school. Obviously West Virginia is a big change from sunny Florida and Katy is resigned to strange accents, boredom and a lot less internet access that she’s used to. However, Ketterman turns out to be more interesting that Katy anticipated, largely due to the aliens living next door – Daemon and Dee.

Daemon and Dee are siblings, in the same class as Katy and her nearest neighbours. While Katy strikes an immediate friendship with Dee, Daemon is another story. Dee gorgeous brother doesn’t approve of the friendship and quickly lets Katy know she’s not welcome. Alas, Katy’s got a little crush on Daemon but his incredible attractiveness is matched only by his incredible arrogance. It’s the perfect mixture of love and hate!

If I could describe Obsidian in one word, it would be entertaining. The characters and their interactions are just so much fun. The characters are interesting and well developed – Katy is a great character and the chemistry between Katy and Daemon is wow! I love that Katy is no doormat and well able to give as good as she gets. The details in the story are really cute from Katy’s blog and her Waiting on Wednesday posts to the rather interesting alien physiology. The world building was logical and well done IMHO of course.

Overall, Obsidian took me by surprise in just how fun the story was. I raced through the book and really enjoyed it.

My Rating: 8/10

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2012 2:29 am

    Wait, am I reading this correctly? Katy has a blog and Waiting on Wednesday posts? That is awesome! Great review!

    • August 12, 2012 12:17 pm

      Yes Courtney, Katy is total book nerd – she’s even wears a t-shirt that says MY BLOG IS BETTER THAN YOUR VLOG. Really fun read.

Trackbacks

  1. Waiting on Wednesday – Opal « Adina's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

