Skip to content

Top Ten Tuesday

August 28, 2012

 

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The Top Ten topic this week is: Top Ten Bookish Confessions.

 

1. Late Library Books – very bad habit I know but I just forget.

2. Sex Scenes – I skip the sex scenes especially in historical romance novels. They are never-ending.  And come-on they’re a little repetitive, only difference is a location change, from the bedroom to the parlour to the carriage. Boring!!

3. No patience 1 – I skip forward to see what happens in a story. Just a few pages and before I know it, I’m about 100 pages ahead and I have to go back. Worst habit that I constantly try to curb.

4. All about the books – I blow off real life to read. I’ve been known to spend all day in bed reading a book without communicating with another soul all day. I use up all my holiday/vacation days to sit on my couch and read.

5. No patience 2 – When I’m reading the first book in a series and the latter books are already published, I have to stop myself going online to read spoilers. I desperately want to know what happens.

6. Character names – Often I can’t pronounce characters names, so I make up my own version. So for example Mearray would be Mary. Sometime when I’m discussing a book with a friend, they don’t know who I am referring to. Embarrassing.

7. No patience 3 – Usually I preorder paper copies of my favourite authors new releases from the book depository but because I live in the middle of nowhere, they take over a week to arrive. This means the book is out for 7 days before I get it. So I buy the ebook on the release day. I’m not rich and I wouldn’t dream of wasting money on other stuff but when it comes to books, I have no sense.

8. Early release – I have a little habit of haunting book stores in the hope that a book will be on the shelves early. The staff love me!!

9. Harry Potter – I was the oldest person in the queue for the midnight release of Harry Potter. Small town and small queue filled with 12 years old girls and boys,  bar me of course.

10. No patience 4 – I once purchased an ARC from ebay at a crazy price.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2012 12:48 pm

    I’m a skipper too! Usually I only read ahead a paragraph or two because I HAVE to know what happens – And then I sigh and have to go back because now I know what happened, but I really don’t understand it because I skipped lol.
    Great post!

  2. August 28, 2012 2:03 pm

    I read spoilers for series too. Which I really shouldn’t do, because then I can NEVER tell if a book does a good job of setting up the twist, or if the twist is surprising. But I can’t resist.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    • August 28, 2012 3:41 pm

      I usually regret looking up spoilers but does that stop me the next time…

  3. August 28, 2012 3:24 pm

    It’s funny, but some of these I’m the direct opposite of you. I love sex scenes (if they’re well written, which is probably a matter of personal taste), I never skim (with the exception of Crime and Punishment because God I hated Rashkolnikov, the whiny little s**t!), and I never read spoilers. But I do love getting comfy on the couch with a book and simply don’t care about maintaining a social life.

    And it’s not just you – I live in Toronto and books from The Book Depository can take easily two weeks or more to get to me. Amazon is much faster but TBD is cheaper, so I guess I just have to be patient!

    • August 28, 2012 3:40 pm

      The wait for the book depository is absolute torture. I think that my post man is a little scared of me at this stage. I ambush him several days a week looking for packages.

  4. August 28, 2012 3:34 pm

    I only went to one midnight preview of a Harry Potter book. By the time I stood in line to actually buy it and had it in my hand it was 2 PM. I went home too tired to read so I just went to sleep. I thought through that for the next launch and decided to just buy it the next day. Ha! Thanks for visiting my blog.

    • August 28, 2012 3:43 pm

      I went to two Harry Potter midnight releases. The second one was in a city, with a much bigger and diverse queue. Saved my blushes.:)

  5. August 28, 2012 4:31 pm

    Great list! Sometimes I’ll skip over stuff too just so I can know what happens and then I’ll go back and reread. =) Thanks for stopping by!

  6. stuckinva permalink
    August 28, 2012 5:16 pm

    I make up my own pronunciations, too. 😀 I recently read a book where the main character’s name was Maryse, which I pronounced Marcy. And Hermione? Herm-own.

    • August 28, 2012 6:08 pm

      I never knew how to pronounce Hermione until the movies. I think I called her Hermy in my head.

      • stuckinva permalink
        August 28, 2012 6:57 pm

        That was the #1 thing I was excited about for the movies, I’d finally know exactly how to pronouce her name! 😀

  7. rubybastille permalink
    August 28, 2012 5:51 pm

    Heehee, my friends and I have been known to do the opposite of your #2 for entertainment purposes! Those scenes are pretty hilarious to read aloud.

  8. August 28, 2012 6:17 pm

    Ha, I tend to ignore the rest of the world, too when I read. I’m seventeen but instead of going out every weekend and partying like crazy I stay at home and read. I do babysit quite often, though, so that whenever someone asks me why I’m not coming to this and that event I’m like “Sorry – gotta work!” and can sit on the couch and read as soon as it’s nine and the kids go to bed 🙂

    • August 28, 2012 6:23 pm

      Oh baby sitting is a great for reading, as long as the kids sleep for you of course 🙂

  9. August 28, 2012 6:25 pm

    Love it! Thanks for your comment! I tend to skim read through stuff when I get bored. 🙂

  10. August 28, 2012 6:38 pm

    Yay — another forward skipper! And I agree totally: both sex scenes and action sequences can get repetitious!

  11. August 28, 2012 7:29 pm

    i am so bad about blowing off real life. my friends get mad at me, but i just want to read! great list, it seems you & I would get along famously. we could both sit in a room & read. if we could get everyone to do that, we could get world peace. ~dixie

  12. August 28, 2012 9:19 pm

    you’re the opposite of me. i will totally skip TO the sex scene if the book is just ho hum. i mean i read romances partly for the smutty parts so i can’t skip them. and i also stalk the bookstore for early releases and am super excited when i find one.

    my top ten tuesday

  13. August 29, 2012 12:24 am

    love your list! I am anti-social too when it comes to reading and I always want to look up spoilers for series. I always need to know who gets together if there’s a love triangle, so I’m not invested in one guy and he’s not chosen. haha and throne of glass was on the bookshelves early! that was a nice surprise. and some of my favorite parts are the sex scenes if they’re well-written. it’s my guilty pleasure. so that’s the only one we’re opposites on.

  14. August 29, 2012 12:57 am

    I do BOTH of your ‘no patience’ confessions as well! And then I feel guilty about it, as if the book/author is disappointed in me. Crazy-town, here I come! great TTT.

  15. August 29, 2012 3:26 am

    What was the ARC for?

    • August 29, 2012 8:28 am

      Personal Demon by Kelley Armstrong. I was just so excited for Hope’s book my reason went out the window. 🙂

  16. August 29, 2012 11:07 am

    I’m not rich and I wouldn’t dream of wasting money on other stuff but when it comes to books, I have no sense. — Love this. 🙂 High five!

  17. August 29, 2012 3:45 pm

    These are great confessions! i love your no patience ones, but I hate to read ahead or find out spoilers. I’m with you on book buying impulses, though.

  18. August 29, 2012 4:18 pm

    I do the same with character’s names – esp if I can’t pronounce it or I hate the name. Peeta became Peter…

  19. August 30, 2012 5:50 pm

    I do the same thing with character names! I change it to something simpler that I hear more often.:D

    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

  20. August 31, 2012 11:21 pm

    Great list! YES on #2. Sex scenes are BORING to me. If I even read a few paragraphs of a couple making out, I’m rolling my eyes and waving my hand in a circular motion, saying to the book, “Let’s move it along!” And I would totally do #4 if I didn’t have a husband and son. Can’t really blow them off. 😉 And I really can’t stand not knowing how to pronounce something, so I look it up. Then I’m the one correcting people when they do what you do. :/
    “I’m not rich and I wouldn’t dream of wasting money on other stuff but when it comes to books, I have no sense.” LOL! I’m with you there!
    And I was one of the older people at the HP midnight releases I went to, too! Well, for the book releases. I didn’t go to the midnight movie releases. I’m too old for that, lol!

    Great list, and thanks so much for stopping by my TTT! I’m a new follower. Check out my upcoming His Dark Materials Readalong and Giveaway if you want! 😀

Leave a Reply

