Skip to content

Feature and Follow #3

September 14, 2012

Q: What hyped up book do you think was not worth all the talk?

I’m going with Throne of Glass here. The book was okay but it definitely didn’t live up to the hype, which sold the novel as Game of Thrones for the teenage set, similar to the stories of Megan Whalen Turner and George R.R. Martin. Β Please, in this case the marketing department didn’t do Throne of Glass any favours. Turner and Martin are incredible authors with vast complex characters and plots. Throne of Glass was a different type of book altogether.

My Review

Blog Hop List Here

24 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2012 9:40 am

    I’ve heard so much about Throne Of Glass, but it doesn’t really catch my eye! Glad to know that it’s cool if I give it a miss!
    Here’s my F&FF post.
    New follower here!

    -Sarika

  2. September 14, 2012 11:28 am

    Sorry you didn’t enjoy it. I must admit it’s still on my TBR. I’m a new follower and you can find me at:
    http://todayinshenaya.blogspot.com

    • September 14, 2012 12:40 pm

      I’ve followed you back Gwynneth but there seems to be a glitch and I can’t comment on your blog. I’ll try again later πŸ™‚

  3. September 14, 2012 12:27 pm

    I have heard quite a lot about Throne of Glass, but I’m not sure if it’s even on my TBR… Thanks for stopping by my FF post earlier. I am already a follower πŸ™‚
    Have a fabulous weekend.

  4. September 14, 2012 12:36 pm

    NOOOO, I was so looking forward to this book. 😦 Now I am scared to buy it.

    Thnaks for stopping by.

  5. September 14, 2012 2:20 pm

    thanks for stopping by! and I couldn’t agree more. LOL. I’m a new follower on wordpress. πŸ™‚

  6. September 14, 2012 2:34 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my post πŸ™‚ I own, but haven’t read, this book- I hope I like it. I haven’t read A Game of Thrones so I don’t have that to compare it to. I am a new email follower.

  7. September 14, 2012 4:40 pm

    I just picked this up from the library and I’m excited to read, but also aware that I may not like it as much as the hype! Thanks for sharing! I always like to be wary of that. Haven’t seen/read Game of Thrones either so maybe if I’m not comparing, it won’t be a big deal! πŸ™‚

  8. September 14, 2012 6:12 pm

    I actually haven’t read this one, though I have seen the cover. It’s not one I’ve been anxious to read though.

    Thank you for stopping by my blog and following. I’m following back. πŸ™‚

  9. September 14, 2012 7:06 pm

    Have to agree with you on that one. I just don’t get the comparison. The Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series have such complex plotlines with myriad of characters while Throne of Glass seemed quite straightforward to me.

    • September 14, 2012 7:57 pm

      I think I would have enjoyed Throne of Glass more if I wasn’t expecting something along the lines of Game of Thrones. I might have enjoyed the story for what it was, instead of being disappointed in what it was not.

  10. September 14, 2012 8:18 pm

    LOL. My sister and I talk about Throne of Glass all the time and the controversy surrounding the book. I’ve heard sooo many awful things about it, but I know there are people who loved it too. It almost makes me want to read it just to see if it’s that bad…but I don’t know if I want to waste the time. I am definitely going to go read your review in a bit. Also, you’ve read This is Not a Test (as per your GR sidebar)! I love that book! πŸ™‚

    New Follower via GFC and Facebook! πŸ™‚

    My FF

    • September 14, 2012 8:19 pm

      Oops I meant to say new follower via your email list. πŸ™‚

    • September 14, 2012 8:56 pm

      It’s a conundrum πŸ™‚ I followed you back Susan

  11. September 15, 2012 5:56 am

    You know, I’ve never even heard of this one! It probably means I can skip it, LOL.
    New follower via RSS
    http://littlesqueed.blogspot.com/2012/09/feature-follow.html

    • September 15, 2012 11:34 am

      I love your post littlebearries. It’s so funny πŸ™‚

  12. September 15, 2012 6:36 am

    I’ve actually seen a lot of people who have mentioned this book. Which is upsetting because I’m trying to decide whether or not to buy it! lol Guess I’ll read more reviews on it!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    • September 15, 2012 12:19 pm

      Yes, a few blogs had Throne of Glass as their choice today. Great minds πŸ™‚

  13. September 15, 2012 11:12 pm

    Hi!
    Oh! this is your third FF&F! This is my second πŸ™‚

    I’m following you now. Here is my post
    http://onlectus.blogspot.com/2012/09/feature-and-follow-friday-2.html

    Happy blogging!

    Lectus

  14. September 15, 2012 11:14 pm

    I forgot to mention. I subscribed as kiaracn@

  15. September 16, 2012 10:22 am

    I looooved Throne of Glass. It’s right up my street.

    Thanks for the follow at The Demon Librarian. I returned the favour.

  16. September 17, 2012 2:31 am

    Oh I agree. I was expecting so much more. Plus I love Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder and there are several quotes that are almost word for word the same. I was extremely disappointed with that. Know you are not alone in your disappointment.
    Thanks for stopping by my page. I hope you had a great weekend. Sorry that I am getting back to you so late.

  17. September 17, 2012 9:37 pm

    Thanks for stopping by.
    Returning the favour.

Leave a Reply

