Skip to content

Top Ten Tuesday

September 18, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The Top Ten topic this week is:Β  Top Ten Bookish People You Want To Meet (Authors, Bloggers, etc.)

Mostly I’d love to meet authors, sit down in a nice cafe and pick their brains about books and plots and characters. Bliss πŸ™‚

1. Ilona AndrewsΒ – Of of my fave authors. I follow her blog and she’s really funny and slightly mad. I would love to chat all thinks Kate Daniels, beg her for more books in the Kinsmen world and my ultimate goal, a full length Dali novel.

2.. Michelle SagaraΒ – I need to question Ms. Sagara about the Chronicles of Elantra. I have a list of questions a mile long, and I need to know the answers.

3. Kristin BritainΒ – Β The Green Riders series is a great fantasy series, although I thought the last book went a little awry. I want to have a little chat about that with Ms Britain and beg her to write faster.

4. Sarah Rees BrennanΒ – Another author whose blog I follow. She’s so funny.

5. Robert JordanΒ – Sadly Robert Jordan passed away in 2007 but for years I wanted to meet him. I love his Wheel of Time series and I wanted to hear “Read and Find Out” from his lips.

6. Sherry ThomasΒ – I have a great idea for a historical romance novel in my head but I don’t and can’t write. I want Sherry Thomas to write it for me πŸ™‚

7. Suzanne CollinsΒ – I need to talk The Hunger Games.

8. Wen SpencerΒ – Ms Spencer and I need to have a little chat about how much I adore her series, and that I need her to write more Tinker books and write them faster! Also I’m going to commiserate with her about her awful book covers.

9. Jennifer L. ArmentroutΒ – We need to talk heroes. And I have to plead for Seth.

10.Β The Big Publishers – I have quite a few issues with the big publishers, including delayed release of ebooks, flooding the market with one sub-genre and DRM. Also why are there so many typos in digital ARC’s? I’m sure they have nothing more important to do πŸ™‚

16 Comments leave one →
  1. readerbuzz permalink
    September 18, 2012 11:48 am

    It certainly would be nice if Suzanne Collins would stop by tonight as my book group is discussing Hunger Games. Bet she’d have a lot to offer the conversation!

    Here’s my Top Ten Bookish People I Want to Meet. I hope you will stop by!

  2. September 18, 2012 1:54 pm

    I’d love to meet Suzanne Collins and JLA.. and join in on that Seth chat!!
    Here’s my Top Ten.
    Ashley
    #BookNerd

    • September 18, 2012 3:47 pm

      You’re welcome to join us. We can plead his case together πŸ™‚

  3. September 18, 2012 2:08 pm

    Lol – nice to see Bog Publishers on your list πŸ™‚

  4. September 18, 2012 2:10 pm

    Sarah Rees Brennan was an “honorable mention” for me– her blog is great, and so are her Demon’s Lexicon books. Have you read them? Anyway, I don’t know why I didn’t think of Suzanne Collins, but she would be a fantastic one. And the Big Publishers– why do they seem to only publish one specific sub-genre nowadays?? I confess I’ve gotten kinda tired of a lot of paranormal romance (assuming that’s the sub-genre you’re talking about). Great list, and thanks for stopping by my blog, too. πŸ™‚

    • September 18, 2012 3:15 pm

      I have the first book in the Demon Lexicon series sitting on my bookshelf. I just haven’t gotten round to reading it yet. I’ve heard so many good things about the series. I really must read it.

  5. stuckinva permalink
    September 18, 2012 4:47 pm

    I listed Robert Jordan, as well. I want to hear about the Last Battle, as well! I also want to hear his thoughts on Sanderson finishing up the series, and the fact that they split up his lat book into THREE!

    • September 18, 2012 5:11 pm

      He did promise it would be one book, no matter how big! I too would like to hear his thoughts. I think he’d be impressed with Sanderson. I know I am, although of course Jordan’s would of been so much better.

      • stuckinva permalink
        September 18, 2012 6:48 pm

        I have to say, out of all the authors that have been tapped to write after the original author has died (that I’ve read, anyway), Sanderson has definitely done the best job–it’s not the *same*, and Sanderson is putting his own spin on some of the characters, but…we’re getting the book, still, instead of lamenting RJ’s passing and the non-ending of his epic series.

        • September 18, 2012 8:42 pm

          Ya I agree, Sanderson is putting his own spin, which can be jarring. After all we’ve followed these characters through thousands of pages. I have to say that I thought Mat was the most “off”character. It’s a pity but as you say better than the alternative.

  6. September 18, 2012 8:42 pm

    It would be super awesome to meet Suzanne Collins! The Hunger Games series is what really got me into reading. πŸ™‚ I really need to read a Jennifer L. Armentrout book. I’ve never read one before and I feel as if I’m the only one!

    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    • September 18, 2012 9:56 pm

      I only discovered JLA last month but I’ve read all her book published to date. She’s a little addictive. I think it’s her amazing heroes πŸ™‚

  7. September 18, 2012 11:03 pm

    Great list! I would love to meet Suzanne Collins too. I haven’t heard of a couple of the authors, like Wen Spencer and Kristin Britain. I’ll have to check them out. Plus love #10 since I know you hate those ARC typos. lol πŸ˜€

  8. September 19, 2012 8:20 am

    Apart from Suzanne Collins I haven’t read one of these authors’ works yet – is that even imaginable? I feel like everyone loves Jennifer Armentrout, though, so I’ll have to go and pick up a book of hers soon!

Leave a Reply

