Skip to content

Top Ten Tuesday

October 16, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The Top Ten topic this week is:

Top Ten Favorite Authors In X Genre (Ex- Top Ten Favorite Science Fiction Authors, Top Ten Fave Contemporary YA authors)

Coming up with a top ten in any genre was a real struggle as I’d only get to a max of 8 authors largely because I can’t recommend (aka disliked) the more recent books of some of my favourite authors. I’ve broken up with Charlaine Harris,Β  Laurell K. Hamilton & Chloe Neill and I’m on sabitical from Kelley Armstrong. So I’ve decided to break my Top Ten into two top 5 lists, Β Urban Fantasy and Paranormal YA.

Urban Fantasy:

1. Ilona Andrews – Yes I’m a fangirl πŸ™‚ I adore this author and Kate Daniels is my favourite series. I love the characters and the world the Andrews have created. The main series is pretty fantastic but so are the short stories featuring secondary characters.Β  In addition Ilona Andrews blog is really good, these two are exceptional at fan interaction with free stories and snippets on their blog. And at the moment there is a free online serial Clean Sweep which I’m really enjoying. Follow the link here.

2. Wen Spencer – Oh Tinker, I put off reading this series for ages because of the awful covers.Β  Thankfully the story inside the terrible cover is amazing. The world and characters just suck me in, every time.

3. Karen Chance – No one does non stop action like Karen Chance. I really enjoy all of her series but Dorina Basarab is my favourite.

4. Patricia Briggs – Mercy Thompson and Alpha & Omega are brilliant series. I highly recommend both. I’m a big fan of Anna and Charles. They just work πŸ™‚

5. Seanan McGuire – I’ve fallen a little behind with the October Daye series but I mean to catch up soon.

Paranormal YA:

1. Jennifer L. Armentrout – Daemon Black, need I say any more πŸ™‚

2. Laini Taylor – So far I’ve only read Daughter of Smoke and Bone but I loved the story and the writing. Really looking forward to Days of Blood and Starlight in November.

3. Sarah Rees Brennan – I love her humour and her quirky characters. Plus her blog is too funny:)

4. Brigid Kemmerer – The MerrickΒ  family is awesome. The dynamic between the brothers is so realistic. I love them.

5. Melissa Marr – Melissa Marr has created some greats world and characters. Always an interesting read.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2012 10:34 am

    Oh how could i forget Melissa Marr πŸ™‚
    Great picks!

    Cassie
    GreatMunchieReads

  2. October 16, 2012 11:14 am

    Before I started blogging I read mostly UF and I definitely agree with you on LKH. Anita and I had to go our separate ways. It’s too bad because I LOVED those early books. I really need to get caught up on the Mercy Thompson series. I loved those. Fabulous list!
    My Top Ten

  3. October 16, 2012 12:05 pm

    Great list! Just hoppin’ through! My TTTs are at <a href="http://musingsonfantasia.blogspot.com/2012/10/top-ten-tuesday-favorite-authors.html"<Musings on Fantasia and LKHill. Happy Tuesday! πŸ˜€

  4. October 16, 2012 12:57 pm

    Your Paranormal YA list is almost exactly what I would make mine.. and you’re right about not needing to say much more than Daemon Black!!
    Here’s my TTT
    Ashley
    #BookNerd

  5. October 16, 2012 2:14 pm

    I don’t read much UF, but you have a great PYA list! Especially Laini Taylor! Love her SO hard! Days of Blood and Starlight is one of my most anticipated reads this year!

  6. October 16, 2012 2:14 pm

    Oooh… Forgot to leave my TTT link. Whoops!

    Check out my Top Ten Favorite YA Contemporary Authors HERE!

    Also, I have a FANTASTIC giveaway of a SIGNED copy Lauren Oliver’s new book, THE SPINDLERS, going on HERE!

  7. October 16, 2012 4:36 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try out more UF, so thanks for the recs! I love the Lux series and Laini Taylor’s books too and can’t wait for the next installments. Great list!

  8. October 16, 2012 5:55 pm

    Gosh, I love Jennifer L. Armentrout. I can’t wait for December 11!

  9. stuckinva permalink
    October 16, 2012 6:51 pm

    How have I not heard of any of these authors? I loooooove urban fantasy (though I’m woefully behind in it)!

  10. October 16, 2012 8:01 pm

    Awesome list. I’ve read (& loved) books by Marr & Taylor. I have books by some of the other authors you mentioned on my reading list too.

  11. October 16, 2012 9:56 pm

    I’ve been meaning to read the Kate Daniels series forever, starts with Love Bites, right??? Sigh – too many good books, too little time. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is also my TBR list.

    • October 16, 2012 11:15 pm

      Magic Bites is the first Kate Daniels book. It’s probably my least favourite book. With this series, each book is better than the last πŸ™‚

  12. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews permalink
    October 16, 2012 10:21 pm

    Ooooh, lots of authors I want to check out on this list with Melissa Marr being the only author I’ve read a book by (Carnival of Souls) so I definitely look forward to reading their works now, particularly the urban fantasy.

    Great list!

  13. October 16, 2012 11:17 pm

    I like your list! Almost every author is on my TBR list, so I better get started :p

    TTT fairytale authors @thedailyprophecy

  14. October 16, 2012 11:47 pm

    I’ve only read a couple from your second list (Armentrout, Taylor and Kemmerer) but I really love them! I’ll have to check out some of the author authors you have here.

  15. October 17, 2012 1:13 am

    Great list! I haven’t read any of the urban fantasy authors. I’ll need to check them out. I love your top 3 paranormal ya authors! I’ll need to read the other two now!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Happy Tuesday πŸ™‚

  16. October 17, 2012 2:34 am

    I read and love four of your five picks for urban fantasy: Ilona Andrews, Karen Chance, Patricia Briggs, and Seanan McGuire. If I made a top five list for urban fantasy these four would definitely make it.

  17. October 17, 2012 2:58 am

    I’m not a big UB or paranormal reader but I do love Laini Taylor. I can’t wait to read Days of Blood & Starlight.

  18. October 17, 2012 1:26 pm

    YAY for Laini Taylor and Melissa Marr! I have Sarah Rees Brennan’s Unspoken but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. It’s coming up soon in my list though. πŸ˜€

  19. October 18, 2012 12:19 am

    I just read Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout. It’s not my favorite series, but she definitely has an addictive writing style! I’m dying to read Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan. She seems really cool!

  20. October 18, 2012 1:43 pm

    Patricia Briggs is one of my favourite UF authors. Mercy Thompson and Alpha&Omega are incredible. I think I’ll have to check out many of the other authors you’ve mentioned.

Leave a Reply

