Skip to content

Minion’s Reviews: Made of Steel

July 9, 2013

Adina’s BFF Minion will occasionally be dropping by with a guest review. In gratitude I made her a special picture, it’s a little basic but I’m learning 🙂

 

Doctor Who: Made of Steel – Terrance Dicks

Man of Steel

The third Quick Read title featuring Doctor Who.

An obscure Government Ministry is blown up, and secret decoding equipment disappears. High-tech equipment is stolen from an army base. Mysterious figures raid an electronics shop, take the new games consoles and then vanish. Could the Cybermen be back?

Amazon

I picked this up for my 10 year old nephew while I was visiting the Dr. Who Experience in Cardiff. It’s a small 100 page book ideal for his summer reading. Of course being a major Dr. Who fan myself I picked it up and couldn’t put it down. I love the Dr. Who series but I had never read any of the accompanying books.

This novella stars the 10th doctor (David Tennant) and his companion Martha. From the beginning the story was fast paced and definitely had all the hallmarks of a Russell T. Davis Dr. Who episode. The Doctor is his usual fast talking, mumbling self. This book also answered alot of unanswered questions for me – the main one being – how Martha (well a Torchwood employee played by Freema Agyeman) was killed at the end of season 2 of the new shows. Then we meet her again as Martha in season 3. This was nicely mentioned by Martha as her cousin who looks like her. A feeble excuse I know but at least it was addressed. I also felt for the Doctor when he mentioned not being able to open the void – the void where Rose remains forever. An episode which still makes me cry every time I watch it.

As for the plot for this novella, left behind cybermen plot to make the Doctor open the void so they can be reunited with the other cyberman. The usual events play out – The army need the Doctor, they treat him badly, cocky army personnel nearly ruin it all and the Doctor saves the day.

An excellent read I highly recommend it. Now I must go and rewatch The Doctor and Martha season.

5 stars.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

