Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday: The Burning Sky – Sherry Thomas

July 10, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Sherry Thomas is an author whose books I enjoy tremendously so I’m really excited about her first foray into young adult.  The Buring Sky is a YA fantasy and it sounds pretty good.

The Burning Sky – Sherry Thomas

The burning skySeries: The Elemental Trilogy #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Published: 17th September 2013
Links: Amazon  Book Depository

It all began with a ruined elixir and an accidental bolt of lightning…

Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation—or so she’s being told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of The Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the greatest mage tyrant the world has ever known. A suicide task for anyone let alone a sixteen-year-old girl with no training, facing a prophecy that foretells a fiery clash to the death.

Prince Titus of Elberon has sworn to protect Iolanthe at all costs but he’s also a powerful mage committed to obliterating the Bane to revenge the death of his family—even if he must sacrifice both Iolanthe and himself to achieve his goal.

But Titus makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the Bane closing in, he must choose between his mission and her life.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2013 9:12 am

    Oh, this was my pick last week! 🙂

  2. July 10, 2013 10:22 am

    I didn’t read paranormal novels for a while. I think I “over-dosed”. 🙂

    Here is my first WOW on romance novels blog – Way Too Hot Books

    • July 10, 2013 2:53 pm

      I think I’m overdosing on new adult at the moment. I really should stop and try a new genre.

  3. Patty permalink
    July 10, 2013 11:52 am

    I keep seeing this one around but I don’t know whether or not to read it. I might wait and see.

  4. July 10, 2013 11:53 am

    This looks so awesome 😀

  5. July 10, 2013 4:42 pm

    I’m definitely excited for this one, too. I don’t read a lot of fantasy, but this one looks amazing. I like this new cover, but I loved the original one and am kind of bummed they changed it. Oh, well. Great pick!
    Natflix&Books’ WoW

    • July 10, 2013 5:07 pm

      I really like the colours on the older cover but this one good too. I like the image in the flames. Is it a phoenix?

  6. July 10, 2013 5:03 pm

    I’m excited for this one too. Pretty cover. I wonder how you pronounce Iolanthe.

    • July 10, 2013 5:08 pm

      I’m reading it as I-o-lan-tha but my pronunciation is usually terribly wrong 🙂

  7. July 10, 2013 9:52 pm

    I’ve seen this on a few people’s WoWs this week! I really love the main character’s first name (it’s eye-oh-LAN-thee, btw).

    Thanks for stopping by my WoW!

    ~Merin @ Read and Reviewed~

    • July 10, 2013 9:56 pm

      Thanks for the pronunciation Merin. I just knew I was wrong 🙂

      • July 10, 2013 9:59 pm

        Haha, no worries! It’s seriously one of my favorite names ever. 🙂

  8. Jessica@a GREAT read permalink
    July 10, 2013 10:37 pm

    Ooh nice! This one’s new to me but looking intriguing!

    Thanks for visiting my WoW!

  9. July 11, 2013 12:18 am

    Read this one already it was awesome! And I love the new cover 😀

    Jaime @ Two Chicks On Books

    • July 11, 2013 8:19 am

      I’m super jealous but it’s great to hear good things about The Burning Sky 🙂

  10. Kim permalink
    July 13, 2013 8:51 pm

    Wow, that’s a beautiful cover! So eye catching. And the summary sounds very interesting. I’ll have to put this on my TBR page!

Leave a Reply

