Skip to content

Minion’s Reviews: A Big Hand for the Doctor

July 11, 2013

Adina’s BFF Minion will occasionally be dropping by with a guest review. In gratitude I made her a special picture, it’s a little basic but I’m learning 🙂

Doctor Who: A Big Hand For The Doctor – Eoin Colfer

A big hand for the doctor

Doctor Who Anniversary – First Doctor

Eleven Doctors, eleven months, eleven stories: a year-long celebration of Doctor Who! The most exciting names in children’s fiction each create their own unique adventure about the time-travelling Time Lord.

London, 1900. The First Doctor is missing both his hand and his granddaughter, Susan. Faced with the search for Susan, a strange beam of soporific light, and a host of marauding Soul Pirates intent on harvesting human limbs, the Doctor is promised a dangerous journey into a land he may never forget…

Amazon

I have never watched any of the episodes with the 1st Doctor so I didn’t know what to expect from this story.

It is a gem, I loved it from the beginning. I like the Doctor Who episodes that are set in the past and this book did not disappoint.  I love Colfer’s Doctor, he’s exactly how I imagine an older Doctor to behave and act, especially when he has to make small talk and barter for a new hand. I really liked how we got to see the Doctor with family. The Doctor always cares about his travelling companions but this was different he would have given his life for Susan. Aldridge, the surgeon, had the perfect opposite character to that of The Doctor and I like that Aldridge was from Gallifrey, he is a link, if somewhat sad link to The Doctor’s past – the good and the awful past.

The baddies in this story – the soul pirates – were particularly scary. Once meat hooks were mentioned on the space ship I really got scared. The idea of using children as spare parts was extremely gruesome and effective. I love how The Doctor always stays calm, always puts others before himself and always uses his brain to get out of tricky situations. It would be hard to imagine any superhero or sci fi character nowadays not using violence or deadly weapons.

I wish we got to see and spend more time with Susan, she seems like a really good companion. The Peter Pan connection at the end was just perfect. I love that Dr. Who can weave real life events into the story.

This is a great read, Eoin Colfer is one of the funniest writers I know and his Dr Who story was both funny and true to the Dr Who series. 5 stars

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

