Skip to content

Review: Lick – Kylie Scott

July 12, 2013

Lick – Kylie Scott

Stage Dive

Series: Stage Dive #1
Genre: New Adult
Published: 1st July 2013
Links: Book Depository   Amazon   Goodreads

Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

Evelyn Thomas’s plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure as hell never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

One thing is for certain, being married to rock and roll’s favourite son is sure to be a wild ride.

Suffering from a terrible weakness for rock star romances, and being in the middle of a new adult craze  I was immediately drawn to Lick when I saw the title on a friend’s goodreads page. Too many new adult books are shockers with the occasional rare gem and happily Lick turned out to be one of the good ones. I really enjoyed this story. It’s a quick read and I pretty much inhaled it in one sitting.

Lick tells the story of David and Evelyn who get married after one night spent getting to know each other in Las Vegas. Alas for poor David, Evelyn is more intoxicated that he realised and wakes up the next morning with little to no memory of the night before.

The author’s writing style was really accessible and drew me quickly into the characters world. I was intrigued by the premise of the novel, in fact I was sure it wouldn’t work or that I wouldn’t empathise with the characters but I did. Kylie Scott takes a wild premise and makes it work from the opening scene which was crazy but in a good way.

David and Evelyn are realistic and likeable characters. I really appreciated that Evelyn wasn’t some poor downtrodden girl who suffered terrible abuse all her life. In fact she was a pretty normal girl. Too many heroines in new adult novels are horrifically abused; their lives are almost devoid of any happiness. Sometimes less is more, you know 🙂

A fun read. Recommended as great escapism.

My Rating: 7.5/10

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2013 7:16 pm

    This sounds pretty good. I actually tend to shy away from NA just because I feel like most of the genre does focus too much on abused, down-trodden girls. I don’t need everything I read to be sunshine and rainbows, but I do like my stories to be a little bit more upbeat. Great review!

    • July 13, 2013 11:16 pm

      Lick definitely features some of the “happier” characters that I’ve come across in NA 🙂

  2. July 16, 2013 3:52 pm

    Fab review, Adina! Lick is such a fun read, isn’t it? Great escapism is right 🙂

Leave a Reply

