Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday – Wild Cards

July 31, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week I’m eagerly anticipating Wild Cards by Simone Elkeles.  It’s Simone Elkeles, it’s a YA sports romance – need I say more 🙂

Wild Cards – Simone Elkeles

Wild Cards
Series: Wild Cards #1
Genre: YA Contemporary
Published: September 24th, 2013
Links: Goodreads   Amazon

After getting kicked out of boarding school, bad boy Derek Fitzpatrick has no choice but to live with his ditzy stepmother while his military dad is deployed. Things quickly go from bad to worse when he finds out she plans to move them back to her childhood home in Illinois. Derek’s counting the days before he can be on his own, and the last thing he needs is to get involved with someone else’s family drama.

Ashtyn Parker knows one thing for certain–people you care about leave without a backward glance. A football scholarship would finally give her the chance to leave. So she pours everything into winning a state championship, until her boyfriend and star quarterback betrays them all by joining their rival team. Ashtyn needs a new game plan, but it requires trusting Derek—someone she barely knows, someone born to break the rules. Is she willing to put her heart on the line to try and win it all?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2013 4:48 pm

    I never got into her other series, but I’ve been looking forward to this one, too. It looks really good and I love that she plays football. Great pick!

    • July 31, 2013 7:26 pm

      Really looking forward to the heroine being a football player too. Should be great.

  2. July 31, 2013 7:28 pm

    Wow. Never heard of this one before. Sounds interesting.

  3. July 31, 2013 7:38 pm

    Not really into contemporary these days. I used to be, but I gravitate towards science fiction and fantasy lately. But I have seen this book around and it sounds interesting! Great pick! Thanks for stopping by my WoW earlier!

  4. July 31, 2013 7:59 pm

    The blog I just visited has this pick as well! I really want to read Elkeles since I haven’t yet. I hear she is a great writer and it is interesting that the female is on the football team. Great pick and thanks for stopping by 🙂

    Vyki @ On The Shelf

  5. August 1, 2013 1:37 pm

    AHH OMG. I’m dying for this book! It was my WoW last week 😛
    I have pretty high expectations for this because a couple of my friends have read it and they loved it. So yeah 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

