Skip to content

Feature and Follow #7

August 9, 2013

Feature and Follow The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee’s View and Alison of Alison Can Read.

Question:

Back to School time! Create a reading list for the imaginary English Lit class you’ll be teaching this semester.

 

I’m pretty sure my students would hate me because my required reading list would be long…. but full of awesome books, so they couldn’t complain 🙂

I’d like my list to have variety, to give my students a taste of my favourite genres,  from the fun to the serious, the easy reads to the the great tombs! I wanted to add a crazy number of books but I limited myself to ten (with difficulty). I present Adina’s English Lit Reading List and the lovely essay questions I’d give my students.

1499952

1. Daddy Long Legs – Jean Webster

A classic epistolary novel. Write a letter to Judy.

 
375802

2. Enders Game – Orson Scott Card

Does the end justify the means in Enders Game? Why?

 

2286653. The Eye of the World – Robert Jordan

Good and evil are largely presented as black and white in The Eye of the World. Do you agree with this statement. Why?

 

10271616

4. A Long Long Sleep – Anna Sheehan

Waking up after 62 years in a stasis tube – terrible or brilliant? How would you react?

Someone I used to know

5. Someone I Used to Know – Francis Blakney

Adley is a prickly heroine. Do you empathise with her and do you agree with her actions and reactions to her situation. Why?

 

 

Frankie Banks

6. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks – E. Lockhart

Francis is a unique heroine. Do you think she’ll take over the world one day?

This is not a test7. This Is Not A Test – Courtney Summers

What are your thoughts on the characters in This Is Not A Test.  Who did you root for?

 

 

 

Storm

8. Storm – Brigid Kemmerer

On a scale of  1 – 10 , how awesome are the brothers??

All These Things I've Done9. All These Things I’ve Done – Gabrielle Zevin

Anya by necessity is the leader and caretaker of her family. Responsibility was thrust upon her at a young age. Does she handle this responsibility well in your opinion.

 

 

7818683

10. Five Flavors of Dumb – Antony John

Piper’s parents make some difficult choices in Five Flavors of Dumb. Do you agree with their actions? Why?

Blog Hop List Here

19 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2013 10:19 am

    Now that’s one English class I would love to take 🙂

  2. August 9, 2013 11:28 am

    Because I love Daddy Long Legs and heard a lot of good things for Ender’s game, count me in your class, Ma’am.

    New follower on bloglovin.

    Thoughts and Pens

  3. August 9, 2013 12:48 pm

    Awesome picks. A few are new to me but all interesting 🙂

    follower via bloglovin

    http://www.itchingforbooks.com/2013/08/feature-and-follow-59.html

  4. August 9, 2013 1:39 pm

    I’m not familiar with many of these books you’ve listed above, but I did enjoy Gabrielle Zevin’s All These Things I’ve Done and looking forward to reading the sequel.

    I also wanted to read The Disreputable…heard great things about it.

    My Friday Hop

    • August 9, 2013 7:57 pm

      I highly recommend The Disreputable… Angelica. It so good and really different.

  5. August 9, 2013 3:58 pm

    I’m planning to read Ender’s Game soon–before the film comes out in November. Can’t wait to get to it. The Wheel of Time series is like my favorite of all time! So glad to see it included in someone’s list! I’m actually:D Happy Friday! 😀

    My FFs are at Musings on Fantasia and LKHill.

  6. August 9, 2013 6:35 pm

    I haven’t read any of those! I like how you did questions for each book! I wish I would have thought of that!!

    new follower via bloglovin!

    My FF + Giveaway!

    Amber @Paradise of Pages

  7. August 9, 2013 8:03 pm

    I just finished Five Flavors!! A Long Long Sleep is of of my favorite retellings ❤ I love Otto! Great list(:
    Jackie
    New Follower via Bloglovin

    http://www.nobentspines.blogspot.com/2013/08/feature-follow.html

  8. August 9, 2013 8:25 pm

    Great reading list, it’s very ambitious…love that you have Robert Jordan! Thanks for visiting my FF this week and I’m following you back on Bloglovin’

  9. August 9, 2013 9:15 pm

    I agree with Storm! Love that book 😀

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Following back via Bloglovin!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

  10. August 9, 2013 9:53 pm

    I’m discovering that there are far too many books I haven’t read. Great picks. New bloglovin’ follower!
    Check out MY F&F

  11. August 10, 2013 12:05 am

    Love your list! I’m especially interested in A Long Long Sleep. That looks like an interesting story. Thanks for stopping by Gin’s Book Notes. I’m a new Bloglovin’ follower.

  12. August 10, 2013 1:20 am

    That would be a different sort of class, and I haven’t read any of those books. 🙂 Following via bloglovin. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  13. August 10, 2013 9:21 pm

    I’ve not read any of these! *Shamed face*
    I have heard of Enders Game, All these thing I’ve done, Daddy long legs and This is not a test, though! All is not lost on me 😀
    Thanks for stopping by my FF! Old follower

  14. Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace permalink
    August 12, 2013 2:23 am

    Nice mix of books!! Definitely would be a fun class!!

    Thanx for visiting my FF!
    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

Leave a Reply

