Skip to content

A – Z Book Survey

August 15, 2013

AtoZsurvey

Jamie at The Perpetual Page Turner created this fun A-Z survey, a reminder of her Myspace days. Here for what it’s worth are my answers. All links are to goodreads.

 

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Probably a tie between Robert Jordan and Anne McCaffrey.

Best Sequel Ever:

Wow, really hard one because there are so many to choose from but I’m going with Wolf Who Rules by Wen Spencer. Adore this book.

Currently Reading:

I’m between books because of Veronica Mars. I’m in the middle of season 1 and with work etc., there just isn’t time in the day to read and watch Veronica. The dilemma!

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Tea. It used to be Coca Cola but I kicked the addiction.

E-reader or Physical Book?

Both. Either. I don’t worry how the story is presented as long as I get to read it.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Complete fantasy but I’m going with Daemon Black. Who can resist the bad boy.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

Tinker by Wen Spencer. The awful cover put me off for ages but eventually I gave the book a chance and loved it.

Hidden Gem Book:

A Long Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

In desperation at having nothing to read – I pinched The Eye of The World (Wheel of Time Book 1) from my older brother. Hooked 🙂

Just Finished:

A reread of The Reece Malcolm List by Amy Spalding

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

I’m easy – I’d read the back of the Cornflakes box

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Probably one of the Wheel of Time books or The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. All are 600 pages +

Major book hangover because of:

A Memory of Light, the final book in the Wheel of Time series. I still have no idea what I think of it – my brother and I started reading the series a long time ago. At the time we started reading the series, 3 books had been published and the series was meant to be complete in 6 books. 14 books, a prequel, an encyclopaedia, an author change and numerous theories later I was finally finished.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

5. Ebooks were a blessing because I was in danger of having no room in my bedroom for me. Nowadays I only buy about 8 paper books a year, everything else is an ebook.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith – love prickly heroines.

Preferred Place To Read:

Snuggled up on my couch with a cup of tea.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

I’m not really one for quotes – words don’t resonate, I’m all about the characters.

Reading Regret:

Not quitting the Anita Blake series earlier. I kept going despite the crazy change from urban fantasy to urban erotica and now I despise the characters. I can’t even re-read the earlier books that I loved.

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series):

Women of the Underworld by Kelley Armstrong

Three of your All-Time Favourite Books:

Cast in Shadow  by Michelle Sagara, Tinker by Wen Spencer and Not Quite A Husband by Sherry Thomas

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Ilona Andrews

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Cast in Sorrow by Michelle Sagara – like I said, I love prickly heroines.

Worst Bookish Habit:

Skipping ahead to see what happens. I literally wander forward and backwards through a book. Terrible habit that I try so hard to curb but…

Your latest book purchase:

The Night Itself by Zoe Marriott

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

Magic Rises by Ilona Andrews. I was a zombie at work the next day but so worth it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2013 10:41 pm

    Yay for the Wheel of Time / Robert Jordan love! I’m still uncertain about that final book, too. What did you think about the deaths of all those characters in the end? (Is it ok if I post spoilers here? lol)

    LOL at skipping ahead to peek at what happens later in the book! I think I do this sometimes, rarely, when I just can’t take the suspense.

    I’m looking forward to your thoughts on The Night Itself! It seems like it will be a very interesting read.

    • August 16, 2013 1:35 pm

      Spoiler for WOT are fine. The new book has been out a while so I think we’re ok.

      SPOILER ALERT!!

      I really expected that one of the main 3 boys would die – in actual fact I thought it would be Rand, couldn’t see how he would survive. I suppose knowing how loath Robert Jordan was to kill of characters I’m not surprised at the relatively low death toll. Egwene was never a fav character of mine and I think she got worse as the story progressed but it was sad to see her go. Suaine’s (spelling??) death was so cruel and completely glossed over although understandable perhaps considering the circumstances. I had serious worries for Lan and Nynaeve – I desperately wanted them to have their happy ending ( again with the love of prickly heroines 🙂 ).

      • August 16, 2013 3:29 pm

        Yeah, I really expected one of the boys to die, too. But I also couldn’t really see them (Jordan+Sanderson) killing off Rand when he’s got THREE women in love with him. And Perrin + Faile is just too great of a match to destroy, I guess (plus, I learned at a Brandon Sanderson signing that he likes Perrin best and that’s why there was so much of him in the final books). So that only leaves Mat, but for some reason I knew he wouldn’t die. I mean, he’s got that luck!

        On a similar note, I’m also kind of surprised that none of Rand’s girlfriends ended up dying. I guess Min would have been the prime candidate, but I’m glad she didn’t die.

        Egwene actually turned into one of my favorite characters and toward the end, she was one of the few whose stories still kept me interested. So I was really just disappointed by her death. I mean, I understand why she did what she did, and that she’s now sort of memorialized, but I was really wanting her to have a long and powerful reign and Amyrlin. I mean, who the heck is going to lead the Aes Sedai now? Especially since Siuan isn’t around either! I absolutely adored Siuan and Gareth, and it really annoyed me when they died. 😦 Agreed about Lan and Nynaeve! They were one of my favorite couple from the beginning, and I liked them both as characters so much.

        • August 16, 2013 6:02 pm

          I forgot about Min, I was expecting her (dreading!) to die too. I really thought that one of Rands women would die and poor Min was the obvious choice. The other two were pregnant and Min had seen the babies so I assumed they were safe. Min is a great character and her romance with Rand had the greatest depth I felt plus she is by a wide margin my favourite of Rands women, so I was delighted she survived.

          I didn’t know that about Perrin being Sanderson’s favourite. Explains so much 🙂

          • August 16, 2013 6:50 pm

            Min was my favorite of the three, as well, although I really liked Aviendha in the beginning. I really liked Elayne’s relationship with Aviendha and of course with Birgitte! So many great female friendships in that series. 🙂

            And yeah, when Sanderson mentioned that about Perrin, I was like OH, no WONDER like half of that book was all about him! He must also have liked Mat a lot, because there was a lot more of him in those final 3 books too. ❤

Leave a Reply

