Skip to content

Minion’s Reviews: The Roots of Evil – Philip Reeve

September 1, 2013

 Adina’s BFF Minion is continuing her reviews of the short stories released monthly to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who.

Doctor Who: The Roots of Evil – Philip Reeve

The Roots of Evil

When the Fourth Doctor takes Leela to visit an immense tree space station known as the Heligan Structure, little do they know that the tree has been asleep for centuries, dreaming of vengeance against a man in a blue box… As the tree awakes, the Time Lord and his companion soon discover why they are such unwelcome guests.

Eleven Doctors, eleven months, eleven stories: a year-long celebration of Doctor Who! The most exciting names in children’s fiction each create their own unique adventure about the time-travelling Time Lord.

Amazon

Another Doctor, another companion and another adventure for our favourite time-lord.

The Roots of Evil finds the Doctor and his companion Leela on a tree-like space ship – Heligan structure.  From the beginning I felt claustrophobic, the dark caves and trees were effective in adding fear and suspense to this instalment.  The fourth Doctor is a big favourite and usually tops everyone’s list of Doctor Who regenerations. I’m a newbie to the world of Classic Doctor Who and never seen any episodes with the fourth Doctor. I am aware of this incredibly long scarf and adored to its use to save a life. The premise of people hating the Doctor was novel and their names to reflect this was hilarious. This story added no background snippets of the Doctors life or offered me any unknown knowledge that I have come accustomed to from the previous ebooks.  I didn’t get a feel for this Doctor, I did like him but I felt we could have spent more time with him. I found Leela quite annoying and my least favourite companion so far. I did like the idea of the doctor revisiting a place in this different regenerated forms and I loved the reference to the 11th Doctor “Bowties are cool”…

This is a good read and I’m glad I stuck with it, as there’s a good twist!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

