Skip to content

ARC Review: Cast in Flame

July 29, 2014

Cast in Flame – Michelle Sagara

 
Cast in Flame1Series: Chronicles of Elantra #10
Genre: Fantasy
Published: July 29th, 2014
Links: Goodreads   Amazon

Any day that starts with dragon arguments is going to be bad 

Kaylin returned from the West March in one piece. Now that piece is fraying. She’s not at home in the Imperial Palace—and she never intends to be. All she wants is normal garden-variety criminals and a place of her own. Of course, normal in her new life involves a dragon as a roommate, but she can handle that. 

She can’t as easily handle the new residents to the city she polices, because one of them is Nightshade’s younger brother. On a night when she should be talking to landlords in perfectly normal buildings, she’s called to the fief—by Teela. A small family disagreement has become a large, complicated problem: Castle Nightshade’s latent magic is waking. 

And it’s not the only thing.

I received an ARC of Cast in Flame from Harlequin via Netgalley sometime in June. Because I’m a sluggish review writer, I took some notes while I read to help me compose my review. Alas my notes consisted solely of superlatives such as amazing, awe-inspiring, brilliant and wonderful. I simply refused to stop reading long enough to write more. So it’s fair to say that I loved loved loved Cast in Flame.

Cast in Flame is the tenth book in Michelle Sagara’s Chronicles of Elantra series. For the uninitiated, the Chronicles of Elantra account the adventures of Kaylin Neya, a young Hawk in the magical city of Elantra. If you are uninitiated, you do not belong here. Go back to the first book Cast in Shadow in order to fully appreciate the brilliant world building and characters, slowly established through 10 books.

Cast in Flame follows on directly from the events of Cast in Sorrow. Kaylin and her cohorts have returned from the West March. Kaylin is still unhappily residing in the palace following the destruction of her home in Cast in Peril. I was really surprised how the events of Cast in Peril and Cast in Sorrow had such a direct impact on the story. I would go as far to say, that Cast in Flame is part 3 of the Peril/Sorrow duology. Earlier books were more episodic, I think.

To me, the events of Cast in Flame were really unexpected and surprising. I loved how plots quietly introduced in previous novels, came roaring to life in Cast in Flame. The cast of characters get larger with each new novel but somehow they all remain individual, unique, layered and to me utterly riveting. I adored the trio of Kaylin, Teela and Bellusdeo. Together Bellusdeo and Mandoran are comedy gold. The story was well plotted and as I mentioned before really unexpected. Events opened with some great and surprisingly funny scenes between favourite characters, both old and new. The action was literally non-stop, with vivid battles. At times, I roared with laughter, at others my heart ached.

If I listed all that I loved about Cast in Flame, I’d spoil the entire book. It’s enough to say I think that house hunting, Dragons, Barrani and Hawks are all present and accounted for. Fans are going to be delighted with Cast in Flame.

My Rating: 9.5/10

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2014 7:41 pm

    This is the first I’m hearing of this series. Sounds interesting. Great review!

  2. September 21, 2014 3:23 am

    Love your review! Have you found another series that is like this one?

Leave a Reply

