Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday: Storm Siren

August 13, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Storm Siren only came to my attention last week courtesy of Nomi’s Paranormal Palace. It sounds so good that I decided it was worthy of my WoW this week, well that it’s released next week (happy dance) 🙂

 Storm Siren – Mary Weber

 
Storm SirenSeries: Storm Siren #1
Genre: YA Fantasy
Published: August 19th, 2014
Links: Goodreads   Amazon

“I raise my chin as the buyers stare. Yes. Look. You don’t want me. Because, eventually, accidentally, I will destroy you.”

In a world at war, a slave girl’s lethal curse could become one kingdom’s weapon of salvation. If the curse—and the girl—can be controlled.

As a slave in the war-weary kingdom of Faelen, seventeen-year-old Nym isn’t merely devoid of rights, her Elemental kind are only born male and always killed at birth — meaning, she shouldn’t even exist.

Standing on the auction block beneath smoke-drenched mountains, Nym faces her fifteenth sell. But when her hood is removed and her storm-summoning killing curse revealed, Nym is snatched up by a court advisor and given a choice: be trained as the weapon Faelen needs to win the war, or be killed.

Choosing the former, Nym is unleashed into a world of politics, bizarre parties, and rumors of an evil more sinister than she’s being prepared to fight . . . not to mention the handsome trainer whose dark secrets lie behind a mysterious ability to calm every lightning strike she summons.

But what if she doesn’t want to be the weapon they’ve all been waiting for?

Set in a beautifully eclectic world of suspicion, super abilities, and monsters, Storm Siren is a story of power. And whoever controls that power will win.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2014 9:51 am

    This one has received some glowing praise, and the concept’s really cool. I definitely will be keeping an eye on it!
    My WoW

  2. August 13, 2014 10:19 am

    I can’t wait for this one too 🙂 Has been on my amazon wishlist for a while. Not long now! 😀

    My WOW

  3. August 13, 2014 2:14 pm

    I’ve seen it around here and there, LOVED the cover, and sounds pretty good, so *fingers crossed* 🙂

    Here’s mine

    Kirsty @ StudioReads

  4. August 13, 2014 2:56 pm

    This one sounds really awesome and cool. Its only a week more right. Great choice.

    Grace @ Books of Love

  5. August 13, 2014 5:30 pm

    OH this sounds so good and the cover is beautiful! I am so glad you picked a book that’s release date is very soon! I hate finding a book I want to add to my TBR on another blog and have to wait months it’s nice to find one that I don’t have to wait so long on =) great choice!
    Bloglovin follower =)
    http://bookstothetea.blogspot.com/

  6. starryeyedjen29 permalink
    August 13, 2014 8:32 pm

    This does have a gripping premise, but why is this the first I’m hearing of it? Sounds like a book that NEEDS to be on my TBR. 🙂

  7. August 13, 2014 10:29 pm

    I haven’t heard of this one before. I hope you enjoy reading it! Thanks for stopping by My WoW.

  8. August 14, 2014 3:10 am

    This one is a pretty new discovery for me, but I’m really looking forward to getting my hands on it! I’m already on the list at my library for a copy. Thanks for sharing!
    My WoW.

  9. August 14, 2014 3:55 am

    I’ve heard of this before, but I haven’t read the actual blurb until now. It sounds good! Thanks for sharing.
    Ariel @ Bookish Confessions

  10. Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace permalink
    August 14, 2014 5:34 am

    I like this one too! I featured it last week… fab tease!

    Thanx for visiting my WoW!
    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

  11. August 14, 2014 4:18 pm

    This one sounds really good. I love its cover as well. Great pick.

  12. August 17, 2014 4:47 am

    😀 I just got this for review this week after reading some seriously raving reviews and am dying to pick it up immediately! Luckily for me, because it’s out next week, I can! Awesome pick!

Leave a Reply

