Skip to content

Feature and Follow #5

September 28, 2012

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee’s View and Alison of Alison Can Read.

Q: What is the BIGGEST word you’ve seen used in a book lately – that made you stop and look it up? Might as well leave the definition & book too.

Arabella by Georgette Heyer had quite a few words that I needed to look up. At this stage I know most of the slang but the fabric and clothing  always confuse me 🙂

Cestus

1. a girdle or belt, especially as worn by women of ancient Greece.
2. Classical Mythology . the girdle of Venus, decorated with every object that could arouse amorous desire.

Kerseymere

a heavily fulled woolen cloth constructed in twill weave and finished with a fine nap.

Complaisance

1. the quality of being complaisant (compliant).
2. a complaisant act.

Blog Hop List Here

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2012 11:02 am

    🙂

  2. September 28, 2012 12:25 pm

    ooo good words.. I like ’em 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

    Keely @ Realms of an Open Mind

  3. September 28, 2012 1:22 pm

    Eeek! Three new words to me! 😀 I just have to figure out how they are pronounced! lol 😉

  4. September 28, 2012 1:23 pm

    Wow! those are very unusual words in my vocabulary!

  5. September 28, 2012 1:24 pm

    Holy cow, I would definitely need to look up those words! I have been meaning to read something by Georgette Heyer. Any suggestions on where to start?

    • September 28, 2012 1:31 pm

      I would recommend These Old Shades. It’s a crazy fun romp 🙂

  6. September 28, 2012 1:49 pm

    Jeez haha those words are huge! LOL I’d have to look them up to! Thanks so much for the follow I’m following you back! 🙂

  7. September 28, 2012 3:50 pm

    Great words! New follower via email! 😀 Thanks for stopping by my blog. Happy Friday!

  8. September 28, 2012 4:23 pm

    Hi, I’m a new follower through GFC =)
    Little bit ashamed that I didn’t know Cestus as half of my degree is in Ancient History, and I particularly love ancient Greece…
    Rinn
    http://rinnreads.blogspot.co.uk/2012/09/feature-follow-2.html

  9. September 28, 2012 6:22 pm

    Hopping through. I love Heyer’s books but there are lots of unfamiliar words. Especially because she uses a lot of slang.
    My Hop

  10. September 28, 2012 6:53 pm

    Great word choices. I was trying to pronounce them right now and I think I sort of failed. ALOT. LOL!

    My F&F

    Old follower! 🙂

  11. September 29, 2012 1:32 am

    I knew the first and third, but the one in the middle…. I wouldn’t even know how to go about pronouncing that! 😉

    Thanks for stopping by my blog this week!

  12. Bookworm Mia permalink
    September 29, 2012 2:05 am

    Definitely didn’t know the first two words 😀

    New follower! Hopping by. And this is my ff:

    http://bookwormmia.blogspot.com/2012/09/feature-follow-5.html

  13. donnablhmistress permalink
    September 29, 2012 7:04 am

    All three I haven’t heard of before. Happy Weekend!

    My FF

  14. September 29, 2012 1:34 pm

    Woah- I’ve never seen those words before 😛 Thanks for stopping by my FF, new follower via e-mail !

  15. September 29, 2012 5:50 pm

    Wow, those are some interesting words! I don’t think I’ve ever heard of those words.

  16. October 2, 2012 3:48 pm

    Ooh, I love this! I’ve learned several new words from Seraphina in the past week!

Leave a comment