Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday: Soundless

April 22, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Richelle Mead can be a little hit for miss for me personally but I’m intrigued by the idea of Soundless. Here’s hoping it’s a hit :)

Soundless – Richelle Mead


SoundlessSeries:
 NA
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Published: November 10th, 2015
Links: Goodreads  Amazon 

From Richelle Mead, the #1 internationally bestselling author of Vampire Academy and Bloodlines, comes a breathtaking new fantasy steeped in Chinese folklore.

For as long as Fei can remember, there has been no sound in her village, where rocky terrain and frequent avalanches prevent residents from self-sustaining. Fei and her people are at the mercy of a zipline that carries food up the treacherous cliffs from Beiguo, a mysterious faraway kingdom.

When villagers begin to lose their sight, deliveries from the zipline shrink and many go hungry. Fei’s home, the people she loves, and her entire existence is plunged into crisis, under threat of darkness and starvation.

But soon Fei is awoken in the night by a searing noise, and sound becomes her weapon.

Richelle Mead takes readers on a triumphant journey from the peak of Fei’s jagged mountain village to the valley of Beiugo, where a startling truth and an unlikely romance will change her life forever…

Waiting on Wednesday: Hidden Huntress

April 15, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Stolen Songbird, the first book in The Malediction Trilogy was a reading pleasure last year. I was completely won over by the characters, world building and story. So I’m really excited for book 2 :)

Hidden Huntress – Danielle L Jensen

Hidden HuntressSeries: The Malediction Trilogy #2
Genre: Fantasy, YA
Published: June 2nd, 2015
Links: Goodreads  Amazon 

Sometimes, one must accomplish the impossible.

Beneath the mountain, the king’s reign of tyranny is absolute; the one troll with the capacity to challenge him is imprisoned for treason. Cécile has escaped the darkness of Trollus, but she learns all too quickly that she is not beyond the reach of the king’s power. Or his manipulation.

Recovered from her injuries, she now lives with her mother in Trianon and graces the opera stage every night. But by day she searches for the witch who has eluded the trolls for five hundred years. Whether she succeeds or fails, the costs to those she cares about will be high.

To find Anushka, she must delve into magic that is both dark and deadly. But the witch is a clever creature. And Cécile might not just be the hunter. She might also be the hunted…

I’m Reading…

April 10, 2015

Kati at Dear Author recently posted a list of her Favourite Sports Themed Romances. I downloaded samples of them all to my kindle and have been happily sampling them ever since. I’m currently reading See Jane Sore by Rachel Gibson. It a fun story and I really like the heroine Jane.

See Jane Score – Rachel Gibson

See Jane ScoreSeries: Chinooks Hockey Team #2
Genre: Romance
Published: January 28th, 2003
Links: Goodreads  Amazon    

THIS IS JANE

A little subdued. A little stubborn. A little tired of going out on blind dates with men who drive vans with sofas in the back, Jane Alcott is living the Single Girl existence in the big city. She is also leading a double life. By day, she’s a reporter covering the raucous Seattle Chinooks hockey team—especially their notorious goalie Luc Martineau. By night, she’s a writer, secretly creating the scandalous adventures of “Honey Pie”…the magazine series that has all the men talking.

SEE JANE SPAR

Luc has made his feelings about parasite reporters—and Jane—perfectly clear. But if he thinks he’s going to make her life a misery, he’d better think again.

SEE JANE ATTRACT

For as long as he can remember, Luc has been single minded about his career. The last thing he needs is a smart mouthed, pain in the backside, reporter digging into his past and getting in his way. But once the little reporter shed her black and gray clothes in favor of a sexy red dress, Luc sees that there is more to Jane than originally meets the eye.

Maybe it’s time to take a risk. Maybe it’s time to live out fantasies. Maybe it’s time to….

 

Waiting on Wednesday: Cold Burn of Magic

April 7, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Jennifer Estep has a new series due the end of April. It sounds like good fun featuring kick ass girls, swords and monsters. What’s not to like :)

Cold Burn of Magic – Jennifer Estep

Cold Burn of MagicSeries: Black Blade #1
Genre: Urban Fantasy, YA
Published: April 28th, 2015
Links: Goodreads  Amazon 

There Be Monsters Here. . .

It’s not as great as you’d think, living in a tourist town that’s known as “the most magical place in America.” Same boring high school, just twice as many monsters under the bridges and rival Families killing each other for power.

I try to keep out of it. I’ve got my mom’s bloodiron sword and my slightly illegal home in the basement of the municipal library. And a couple of Talents I try to keep quiet, including very light fingers and a way with a lock pick.

But then some nasty characters bring their Family feud into my friend’s pawn shop, and I have to make a call–get involved, or watch a cute guy die because I didn’t. I guess I made the wrong choice, because now I’m stuck putting everything on the line for Devon Sinclair. My mom was murdered because of the Families, and it looks like I’m going to end up just like her. ..

ARC Review: Lie Down with Dogs

April 6, 2015

Lie Down with Dogs – Hailey Edwards

 
Lie Down With DogsSeries: Black Dog #3
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Published: April 30th, 2015
Links: Goodreads   Amazon
Source: ARC from CrushStar Multimedia LLC via Netgalley

With tentative peace established in Faerie, Thierry returns to her job as a conclave marshal in Texas while the countdown to her coronation begins. But what happens in Faerie doesn’t always stay in Faerie. A crown wasn’t Theirry’s only souvenir from her trip. Her new husband, Rook, is scheming again, and this time his plans are invading her dreams.

When her best friend throws a beachside going away party, Thierry is grateful for the distraction from Rook…and from Shaw. But her presence in Daytona rouses an old evil, one who wants the future queen as the crown jewel of his private collection.

Lie Down with Dogs is the third book in the Black Dog series by Hailey Edwards. The Black Dog books are Urban Fantasy novels that follow the adventures of Thierry, a half blood faery who has one foot in the mortal realm and one foot however reluctantly in Faerie.

Thierry is a Marshall, a supernatural police woman who enforces the rules that fae must obey when in the mortal realm. Thierry has little choice in this career due to her colourful ancestry but embraces it whole heartedly. This girl can kick ass even if she’s a little conflicted about her dark powers. Following her actions in the second book, Thierry is also the reluctant Queen in waiting of Faerie and has returned to the mortal realm where she has one year of freedom before duty calls. Lie Down with Dogs begins upon Thierry return from Faerie, she’s pretty unhappy and her best friend Mai suggests a vacation, one last hurrah with just the girls (and bodyguards). Of course, things are never so simple.

The Black Dog series is fun. For the Urban Fantasy genre, they’re on the lighter side of dark and gritty. I really enjoyed Lie Down with Dogs, the story zipped along. I was a little thrown by the vacation plot line at first considering the events of the previous novel but the plot came together nicely in the end.

Thierry is a great heroine, she’s relatable in that events can overwhelm her but after a pity party involving copious amounts of ice-cream she picks herself up and carries on. The friendship between Thierry and her best friend Mai is lovely and well written. The relationship feels real, the friends bicker and don’t always agree but they love each other and at the end of the day will always do the best for one other.

Thierry’s world and the characters populating it are established in the first book, Dog with a Bone, which I loved. One criticism I would have of this novel is that it doesn’t quite live up to the promise of the first book. The romantic interest Shaw in particular suffers this, where he was crazy interesting and breath-taking in book 1, now he’s somewhat bland and whiny. I’m usually pretty invested in the romance but not this time.

All in all, a fun story. I loved the banter between the character especially Thierry and Mai and I’ll be back for the final book.

My Rating: 7/10

 

Waiting on Wednesday: Rules of Seduction

April 1, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Rules of Seduction sounds like a fun read and the early reviews are pretty positive.

Rules of Seduction – Jenna Mullins


Rules of SeductionSeries:
 NA
Genre: Romance, NA
Published: April 21st, 2015
Links: Goodreads  Amazon 

The first rule of seduction is: don’t fall in love.

Fresh out of college, Dani Young heads for the LA sun to chase her dream of becoming a screenwriter-director. So when her former BFF turned actress Elise offers Dani the opportunity to work on the hit teen show Vamp Camp, Dani can’t refuse, even if it comes at a price: Elise wants Dani to seduce her boyfriend, Vamp Camp superstar Tate Lawrence. Turns out Elise has some major trust issues, and needs Dani to test Tate’s faith. The only rule: don’t fall in love with him.

Sure, Dani doesn’t mind occasionally glimpsing Tate’s megawatt smile…or accidentally-on-purpose brushing up against his perfect torso…but she’s no fool. There’s no way she’d ever fall for a shallow celebrity and no way one would fall for her, a lanky movie nerd.

But amidst vampire-crazed fans, a conniving fellow intern, and a devilishly handsome showrunner, Dani feels like all the rules she used to know have disappeared, except for one: Love doesn’t play by the rules.

Part The Devil Wears Prada, part How To Lose a Guy in Ten Days, this story of friendship and romance is sure to appeal to fans of Stephanie Perkins, Jennifer E. Smith, and Anna Todd.

Top Ten Tuesday

March 31, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The Top Ten topic this week is:

Ten Books You Recently Added To Your To-Be-Read List

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday list was pulled from Goodreads and is the last 10 books added to my Want to Read list.

 

Paradise City  Gambit  Black Wolves  An Ember in the Ashes  Court of Fives

1. Paradise City – C. J. Duggan

2. Gambit – C. L. Denault

3. Black Wolves – Kate Elliott

4. An Ember in the Ashes – Sabaa Tahir

5. Court of Fives – Kate Elliott

 

Archangel's Enigma  Once Upon a Marquess  Lady Be Good  Rules of Seduction  A court of Thorns and Roses

 

6. Archangel’s Enigma – Nalini Singh

7. Once Upon a Marquess – Courtney Milan

8. Lady Be Good – Meredith Duran

9. Rules of Seduction – Jenna Mullins

10. A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

 

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers