Skip to content

Feature and Follow #6

August 2, 2013

The Feature & Follow is hosted by TWO hosts, Parajunkee of Parajunkee’s View and Alison of Alison Can Read.

How do you handle a book you don’t like? Do you DNF or do you power through?

I’m pretty ruthless, I DNF if I don’t like the book. Usually the characters are my favourite part of a book and if I don’t like the characters it’s a DNF.  I rarely power through unless I really like the author and I’m hoping the book will come good or if it’s a review copy.

Blog Hop List Here

19 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2013 2:34 pm

    Understandable. Good answer 🙂

    Happy Friday!

    http://www.itchingforbooks.com/2013/08/feature-and-follow-58.html

  2. August 2, 2013 3:58 pm

    I power through. I hate not finishing a book.:)
    I am a new follower via bloglovin.

    Here is my FF http://between-my-lines.blogspot.fr/2013/08/feature-and-follow-20-dnf-or-power.html

    • August 2, 2013 5:44 pm

      Following you back Athina. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. August 2, 2013 4:48 pm

    I agree, the characters are essential for me too – though I do give authors I like more of a chance. Thanks for stopping by my ff, new follower via bloglovin 🙂

  4. August 2, 2013 5:40 pm

    I don’t blame you. If the characters suck you just can’t get behind them. 😀 Happy Friday!

    My FF

    • August 2, 2013 5:50 pm

      Happy Friday Liesel! I’m following you via Bloglovin.

  5. August 2, 2013 7:38 pm

    Thanks for visiting my FF, Adina. Yep, I’m with you there. Life’s definitely too short to spend reading something we aren’t enjoying.

    Have a super weekend!

    Sandra @ SSBF Blog

  6. August 2, 2013 7:38 pm

    Oh! Silly me. I’m following you back via Bloglovin’. LOL It’s Friday, so brain is fried!

    • August 2, 2013 7:55 pm

      I too suffer from Friday Brain. Need the weekend for the old head to starting working again.

  7. August 3, 2013 3:27 am

    I agree. I occasionally power through, but I think reading should always be enjoyable. And not like pulling teeth.

  8. tillzy permalink
    August 3, 2013 4:23 pm

    Yes, characters a big thing for me too, if I don’t like them, then I will probably give up. I try to power through, but sometimes I have too much to read to keep reading a book I’m not enjoying!
    Thanks for stopping by my FF! New follower via bloglovin’!
    ~Tilly @ Hardcore Heroines

  9. August 3, 2013 6:17 pm

    I have a 33% mark rule. It used to be 25, but I upped it 😉 If I still can’t get into it it will usually turn into a DNF. But that’s rare

    New follower (http://bookcovereviews.blogspot.com)

    • August 3, 2013 8:50 pm

      33% rule sounds fair to me 🙂 Following you back Book Cove. Thanks for stopping by.

  10. August 3, 2013 10:45 pm

    Usually I will give a book 50-100 pages before I DNF if I’m not enjoying it. I used to power through but I no longer have the time and it turned reading into a chore. There are too many books on my tbr pile for me to feel guilty and I’m picky about what I read, so only have 1 DNF so far!

    New follower 🙂

    Mia Hoddell

    Gift card giveaway -> more entries = more money given away

  11. August 4, 2013 3:46 am

    I hate to not finish a book. It does happen occasionally though. I always give it my best effort before giving up.
    New follower!
    Laura
    http://www.thebooknerd2013.blogspot.com

    • August 5, 2013 11:04 pm

      Sorry Laura, your comment ended up in the spam queue and I just noticed. Thanks for stopping by.

  12. August 5, 2013 3:09 am

    Great answer. I myself love good characters I have yet to do a DNF.

    New blog lovin follower

    Thanks for stopping by My FF
    .

  13. August 6, 2013 10:14 am

    Even if it’s a review book I also will DNF it. And I’m just going to email the publisher and let them know that the book is not my cup of tea and thanks them for giving me a chance to read it. I’m not going to write a review since I don’t even finish the book but DNF it.
    Anyway thanks for stopping by and I follow back =)

Leave a comment