Skip to content

Waiting on Wednesday: Promise of Shadows

September 11, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Justina Ireland is an author I have not read before but Promise of Shadow sounds really good. Plus the first line on the authors website is

“My name is Justina. I write books about dangerous girls and the boys who dig them.”

Pity March 2014 is so far away 🙂

Promise of Shadows – Justina Ireland

 
Promise of Shadows
Series: 
Genre: YA Fantasy
Published: March 11th, 2014
Links: Goodreads   Amazon

Zephyr Mourning has never been very good at being a Harpy. She’d rather watch reality TV than learn forty-seven ways to kill a man, and she pretty much sucks at wielding magic. Zephyr was ready for a future pretending to be a normal human instead of a half-god assassin. But all that changes when her sister is murdered—and she uses a forbidden dark power to save herself from the same fate.

Zephyr is on the run from a punishment worse than death when an unexpected reunion with a childhood friend (a surprisingly HOT friend) changes everything. Because it seems like Zephyr might just be the Nyx, a dark goddess made flesh that is prophesied to change the power balance. For hundreds of years the half-gods have lived in fear, and Zephyr is supposed to change that.

But how is she supposed to save everyone when she can’t even save herself?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2013 11:03 am

    i’m very excited for this book too! i like the sound of it and the cover design is great! i’m really liking the cover design trend of using the title’s letters in a blown up, fancy way (also like on the cover of between the devil and the deep blue sea).

    hope you can stop by my WoW.

    -michelle @ Michelle & Leslie’s Book Picks

    • September 11, 2013 6:06 pm

      I’m a big fan of the cover too Michelle. I love the blue on black feathers.

  2. georgiewhatshereads permalink
    September 11, 2013 11:04 am

    I need this book soo much! I have this pre-ordered and cannot wait, definitely an awesome pick! 😀

    Georgie @ What She Reads
    http://www.whatshereads.co.uk
    tweet @whatgeorgiedid

  3. kimberlyfaye permalink
    September 11, 2013 6:26 pm

    I’ve not heard of this one before. It looks interesting!

    Thanks for stopping by my WoW.

  4. September 11, 2013 7:10 pm

    I’ve not heard of this but I’ve read Vengeance by the author and thought it was good 🙂 I must add to my tbr! Thanks for stopping by My WW!

  5. September 11, 2013 10:16 pm

    I’ve not heard of this one before! It refreshing to find a book that I havent heard on the Wow, so Thank you for that. This is totally going on my TBR! excited for March 2014

    Anyways vist my WoW post @ http://straightfromthereadersmouth.blogspot.com
    and don’t forget to follow!

  6. September 11, 2013 11:36 pm

    Ahh, the cover and synopsis look and sound amazing! Definitely adding this one to my TBR pile. The author sounds pretty wicked herself, I’m obsessed with kickass heroines, haha.

    Thanks for checking out my WoW!

  7. September 12, 2013 12:28 am

    I forgot about this book! I seem to see so many books that I can’t keep up with them all. 🙂 But this looks good! Great pick!

  8. September 12, 2013 12:56 am

    I am not generally a fan of this type of book, but this does sound intriguing.

  9. September 12, 2013 2:28 am

    I got this one a couple of months ago! I haven’t read it yet though. I hope it’s awesome! I haven’t read Justina’s other book, but I’m excited about this one 😀

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

  10. September 12, 2013 4:40 am

    I like that Zephyr sounds kinda like me. I’d rather watch reality tv too, BUT I do not have a hot childhood friend ): want one, though haha

  11. Amie permalink
    September 12, 2013 6:42 pm

    Such a pretty cover. I don’t even know what the story is about but for sure that book is going straight to my TBR. Thanks for stopping by and Happy reading.

  12. September 14, 2013 1:30 am

    I haven’t heard of this one before, but it does look good!

Leave a comment